List of haraam products

Haraam products are products (food, ingredients, cosmetic, entertainment, clothes) which are forbidden in Islam.

Ingredients
Meat from animals not slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law.
Alcohol or Illegal drugs (e.g. Marijuana)
Pork (pig meat)
Cholesterol (A type of fat always of animal origin, it should be suspected till the source is known, If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is halal, if not it is haram)
Diglyceride (Emulsifier, if of animal origin it should be suspected till the animal source is known and if of plant origin, it is automatically halal)[1]
Gelatin (Animal origin, mostly from hog (pig) if gelatin sources are from cow or fish or chicken then it is halal)
Glycerol, Glycerine, Glyceryl (It could be of animal, plant or synthetic origin, if animal source is used it is haram)
Hormones (Usually animal hormones are used for human beings. One has to find the source before passing judgement)
Lard (Fat from the swine, mostly found in the abdominal cavity. This is totally haram for Muslims)
Pepsin (A digestive enzyme of the gastric juices usually extracted from hog’s stomach. Usually not labelled)
Rennin, Rennet (A protein enzyme used in the preparation of cheeses for curdling the milk. Usually not labeled)
Carnivore animal meat
Carcenogenic drugs
E120 (Contains insects)
E904 (Contains insects)

The Haram Emulsifier Code
The Haram Emulsifier Code- Simplified Please Always keep in the pocket . Both With “E” and Without “E” 120,140, 141, 160[a], 161, 252,300,301,422, 430, 431, 433, 435, 436, 441,470,471(*Animal Base),472[a],472[b],472[c],472[d], 472[e], 473, 474, 475, 476,477, 478, 481, 482, 483, 491, 492,493, 494, 542, 570, 572, 631, 635,920 (*471 Vegetable Base is said to be Halaal)

The following Emulsifiers – With or Without E are Suspected – Mashbooh – مَشْبُوْه E100, E110, E120, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E256, E270, E280. E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337.E432, E433, E434, E440, E470, E472, E495 E904.

IT IS WORTH MENTIONING THAT:
According to Alqaradawi, substances that have changes in chemical formulae, take the fatwa of the new product regardless of the source— like alcohol turned to vinegar. the final product is halal (although the source is not), or gelatin made from pig collagen (again the final compound is halal although the source is not)
other scholars like the permanent committee in Saudi Arabia have labelled all products from non-halal sources (like pig/dog/etc.) as non-halal.

of course, “product” here means food.

as significant debate exists on the subject, it is recommended to consult experts and commit to further research on the subject before a decision is made.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_haraam_products

Contact for clarifications
Halal Accreditation Council Sri Lanka

E Mail: info@hac.lk

Website: http://www.hac.lk

Hotline:+94 117 425 225
Fax:+94 112 588 050

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Admin, Link. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s